New Job…New Challenges

Well, I think given that I start on Monday, it is safe to announce my new job. I take up the position of resident Aviation Historian at the Royal Air Force Museum at Hendon. As one friend recently put it, I will be like a ‘flying pig in…’. To say that I am excited by the opportunity is an understatement given that I have been working towards this point since I started my undergraduate studies in 2001. There have been some trial and tribulations along the way but I now have an academic post, which is not an easy thing to achieve. I have to admit that I have been very lucky in my mentors along the way. As an undergraduate, Professor John Buckley started me along this path while as I moved into my postgraduate studies Professor Gary Sheffield provided much needed guidance. During my PhD, which I still have to finish (only a couple of months of editing to go), Air Commodore (ret’d) Dr Peter Gray has providing unending support for my endeavours.

This is a new post at the museum so there will be a few interesting challenges along the way. As far as I know, the last person to hold a similar post to this at the museum was H. Montgomery Hyde who held a Leverhulme fellowship while researching British Air Policy between the Wars (1976) during the 1970s. At a personal level I have to get used to getting up early again. After nearly four years of being a PhD candidate, my internal body clock does not like mornings! On a more serious note, I have never worked in a museum, therefore, that is a challenge I am going to relish. I know the RAF Museum as a researcher and everybody I have encountered has always been very nice but seeing it from the inside will be interesting. In short, my job will involve me writing, researching and lecturing on the history of the RAF and its antecendents, air power and aviation. This has both internal and external responsibilities as I will be supporting work on new exhibitions, and with some significant anniversaries coming up this is going to be very interesting. It is all going to be case a managing time and priorities but I am relishing the challenge. I will continue blogging but it will probably continue to follow my irregular pattern…

5 responses to “New Job…New Challenges

  1. Congratulations!

    Don’t forget that there is an excellent offshoot at Cosford: maybe you (and the RAFHS?) could be persuaded to leave London every now again and host meeting/lectures etc there, rather than always at Hendon?

  2. Pingback: Contact Me! | Thoughts on Military History·

Leave a Reply

