A Trip to London…and Books

Yesterday saw me take a run into London. The purpose of this visit was to meet up with Brett Holman of Airminded who is over in the UK on holiday. For anyone who has followed Brett’s blog you will be aware that it is one of the better history blogs on the net. For me it has the added advantage of being abaout Air Power History. It is always great to put a name to the face. Several other bloggers came along to so it was a meeting of the blogosphere. It was also great to meet Jakob, who runs the blog Thrust Vector. I think each of our blogs, and by default research interests, highlights the diversity of Air Power History. Good luck to Breet in getting his thesis published and finding that much vaunted job that we all desire at the of our PhD’s.

Seeing as I was in London it seemed rude of me not to visit the bookshops and peruse the bookshelves. This of course meant that some purchasing was done. This is what I picked up yesterday.

Stephen Bungay The Most Dangerous Enemy: A History of the Battle of Britain (London: Aurum Press, 2009) – This is the new 2009 edition of this work on the Battle. I have not had the chance to read it so it will be interesting to see what he has to add to the historiography.

Noble Frankland History at War: The Campaign of a Historian (London: Giles de Mare, 1998) – This is Franklands account of his life as a historian and deals with many aspects of the historical profession and in particular the issues relating to the publication of the Official History of the Strategic Air Offensive against Germany.

Alfred Hurley Billy Mitchell: Crusader for Air Power (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1975) – A useful early biography of one of the most important men in American air power history.

Harry Yeide and Mark Stout First to the Rhine: The 6th Army Group in World War II (St Paul, MN: Zenith Press, 2007) – I picked this up as I have always wondered about the operation of Devers command, which has recieved scant attention from historians.

Seeing as I was in London I decided to make a day of it and I popped up to the RAF Museum and took some pictures of the exhibits. Always a favourite of mine but I do wish that they would imporve the lighting for photography. As I was in the area  also popped to Hannants and picked up a model. I did not need to but I felt the need.

4 responses to “A Trip to London…and Books

  1. Cheers, and it was good to meet you! I did see the Bungay book about, but didn’t look at it closely, didn’t realise it was a new edition. Pity, quite liked the first ed.

  2. It will be interesting to see what he has got to say on the battle. I’m looking forward to see what he says about Leigh-Mallory. His El Alamein book was good sor hopefully is this.

  3. It was good to meet you too! I though the Bungay was just a re-issue of the paperback; is there any new content? I have the older paperback, and I thought it was really excellent; I don’t think he’s much of a Leigh-Mallory fan though.

  4. Cheers Jakob. Actually taking a closer look at Bungay’s book I think it is actually just a reprint. Not having the original I can’t be sure. As to Leigh-Mallory he does not have many supporters out there!

Leave a Reply

