Bringing Order to Chaos…

Or catloging ones books…

I’m not if it is just me or whether other historians do this but I like to have thing in a neat ordered way. This is especially true of my books. Over the years I have tried many different methods of cataloging my books but each has had its own flaw. I have tried Excel spreadsheet, Access database and most recently I tried MediaMan.

However, my key concern with these is that they were all saved on my computers and as we all know these are liable to crash at some point and having already lost one spreadsheet I wangted something more realiable. Recently I found LibraryThing. The key thing I like about this system is that is web-based which means that it is accessible from anyway and also that should the worst happen and I need to my library collection is availiable for insurance purposes. I know that may seem like an overreaction but a lot of money goes into our book collection and it is better to be safe than sorry. Just to quote from the site:

LibraryThing is an online service to help people catalog their books easily. You can access your catalog from anywhere—even on your mobile phone. Because everyone catalogs together, LibraryThing also connects people with the same books, comes up with suggestions for what to read next, and so forth.

To store more than 200 books you only have to donate $10, which I think is very good. You can also tag you books, which is useful for research purposes. You can see my library here. Not all uploaded yet but getting there. I think this is a great resource.

6 responses to “Bringing Order to Chaos…

  1. I like how the first random book displayed was Warfare in World History, by my advisor Michael S. Neiberg! Anyway, I might have to give LibraryThing a whirl.

  2. LOL. You should givit a go. I have found it great. Can be time consuming at first but once everything is loaded it is just a case of adding the ever present new purchases.

  3. LibraryThing rocks! It’s dirt cheap and continually being developed. The recommendations and similar libraries features are useful for finding other books you might be interested in, too.

    I’m on there as airminded.

  4. Impressive collection Brett. I agree it does rock! So easy too. I only need a similar system to catalogue all those article too.

  5. Hi Ross – take a look at Zotero for books and articles alike. Sits in Firefox and lets you capture references straight off the net (including off Athens/Jstor), add notes and then dump them into Word, a little like a cloud version of Endnote. Cheers, Ken.

Leave a Reply

