Defence of Britain Project

I was reading Dan Todman’s blog, Trench Fever, and he noted an interest in the Defence of Britain Project. I had heard about this some time back and remember the archaeological project that was associated with it. I decided to have a bit of a play with it and low and behold across from my college in Penzance there is a Nuclear Command Centre in the council grounds. As to why it is there I am not sure but I think I may be making a few further enquiries about it. I am about to start teaching a course on the Cold War so it would be interesting to see what is left and take the student see it.  I remember a program on the project where it detailed the defences that were prepared in anticipation of an expected German invasion in 1940, the GHQ line and such. Apparently we pass many remnants of it everyday. Therefore, on my trips around on train to Birmingham and London and have keep an eye out for what may by bits of the defences. I am sure I have spotted a few.

Leave a Reply

