Interesting Blogs

Having been new to blogging I have been trawling through the internet and I have found some very interesting sites. The first of these is a site by Australian PhD candidate Bret Holman. Bret’s site, and thesis, it is all about the issue of Air mindedness (I do not think that’s a word!) and Britain. An issue, which is extremely interesting so Brett’s site, Airminded, is well worth a peek. Another very interesting site, which I had come across before I started blogging is that of American historian Mark Grimsley. Mark has some interesting articles on the development of military history, which I think anyone with any interest in the subject should have a read of. So have a look at his interestingly named Blog them out of the Stone Age. The final one, for now, it Gavin Robinson’s Investigations of a Dog, which I have been finding very interesting, especially his stuff on Early Modern Cavalry, as I am in the process of teaching the English Civil War to my AS Students and not being my particular area I did find it useful. Gavin is hosting a Military History Carnival, which will be interesting when it starts next month.

The one thing I have noticed from other peoples sites it that they have a tendency to use other sites such as WordPress. So a general question to anyone reading this – what is the best blogging site/software?
2 responses to “Interesting Blogs

  1. Thanks for the kind words! Mark Grimsley’s blog was also one of the first blogs I read before I started one myself.

    Airmindedness or air-mindedness is actually a word, or at least it used to be … just yesterday I was reading a passage from the Daily Mail in 1935 which announced the formation of the National League of Airmen, which aimed to ‘make Britain air-minded and to make the rulers of Britain responsive to that air-mindedness’. It’s not a word that gets used much these days, although historians of aviation culture do like it.

    On the best sort of blogging software, it’s really a matter of whatever works for you, go with that; I went with WordPress because it was flexible, extendable, free, looked nice (and looked different to the zillions of Blogger blogs out there!), and is easy to use. I think Blogger has probably caught up some after the upgrade, but I’m still very happy with WordPress. You can set up one for free if you like at http://www.wordpress.com.

    Of course there are other ways to blog like Typepad and Myspace — all I know about them is that the one costs money and the other is uniformly ugly!

  2. Bret – I thoug I had heard the word before. It just does not role of the tongue. I am sure I figure out what softwar is best eventually. But this is very easy to use so I like it that way.

Leave a Reply

